Another “New Beginning”

It’s 2015, a new beginning they claim. but who are “they”? Is it perhaps the optimists that are dotted in our society? Or a lie us everyday beings tell ourselves in order to try a drive a metaphorical wedge between the cumbersome bodies we control and the beds in which we lay? I don’t view myself as a optimist nor for the sake of argument a pessimist, however I don’t think many people actively label themselves as one or the other, or as any label for that matter of fact. That’s societies’ doing,  but I won’t digress down that road.

Yes, I know everyone has their ups and downs yet life -for most of us- carries on. Hour after hour. Day after day. Year after year. So when people turn around and claim they are going to start their new diet or join a new club in “the new year”, my response is “why?”. Don’t get me wrong, I think it’s great for people to set themselves goals or targets to achieve -provided they actually do it, but if someone really desires a change in their life, then why do they wait for a change in another unchanging cycle? Is it symbolic? Does it relate to the too well known phrase “New Year, New Me”?  Why do we constantly put our life on hold, waiting for the opportune moment when we are surrounded by media and companies that urge us to “Just do It”.
Life is Short, I’m all too aware of that and we’re constantly reminded of it. But for the vast majority of us we still continue at the pace we choose to walk through life at, blissfully unaware of the painful truth that that little sand-timer of life won’t wait until the new year to stop passing those little grains of your life away. So I suppose, no scratch that I know that from this point on I won’t wait for life to pass by, and for those reading this maybe you ought to do the same.

Leave a Reply

